SO 9001 – 2008 Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

SO 9001 – 2008 Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

What Is The ISO 9001: 2008 Standard?

The latest edition of the ISO 9001 standard ISO 9001: 2008, Quality Management Systems Requirements, was officially published by (ISO) the International Organization for Standardization on November 14, 2008. It is the fourth edition of the ISO 9001 standard since it was first published in 1987.

ISO 9001:2008 is a standard that provides a generic set of requirements for organizations wishing to develop a quality management system (QMS). The ISO 9001:2008 standard focuses on improving an organizations business processes. It does not specify any requirements ISO顧問公司 for product or service quality.  Customers typically set product and service quality requirements. However, the expectation is that an organization with an effective ISO 9001 based QMS will indeed improve its ability to meet customer, statutory and regulatory requirements.

This is the only QMS standard to which an organization may obtain formal third party certification. Because requirements are generic and not specific, organizations have flexibility in tailoring their QMS to fit their business, culture and risks.

ISO 9001 requirements complement contractual and applicable statutory and regulatory requirements. Those implementing a QMS conforming to ISO 9001 must ensure that the specific requirements of their customers and relevant statutory and regulatory agencies are met.

Who Is Responsible For Revising QMS Standards?

The ISO Technical Committee no.176, Sub-committee no.2 (ISO/TC 176/SC 2) is responsible for the revision process in collaboration with consensus among quality and industry experts nominated by ISO Member bodies, and representing all interested parties.

Does ISO 9001:2008 Have Additional Requirements Beyond ISO 9001:2000?

This latest (4th) edition of ISO 9001 contains no new requirements compared to the (3rd) year 2000 edition, which it replaces. What it does is provide clarification to the existing requirements of ISO 9001:2000 based on eight years experience of worldwide implementing of the standard and introduces changes intended to improve consistency with the environmental management system standard, ISO 14001:2004.

The clarifications and changes in ISO 9001:2008 represent fine-tuning, rather than a thorough overhaul. It focuses on changes that organizations might make to better comply with the spirit of the standard without adding, deleting, or altering its requirements. The changes are minor in nature and address such issues as the need to clarify, provide greater consistency, resolve perceived ambiguities, and improve compatibility with ISO 14001. The numbering system and the structure of the standard remain unchanged. As a result, the new standard looks much like the old standard.

ISO has organized the changes incorporated in this ISO 9001:2008 edition into the following categories:

– No changes or minimum changes on user documents, including records

– No changes or minimum changes to existing QMS processes

– No additional training required or minimal training required

– No effects on current certifications

In contrast, the 3rd edition, ISO 9001:2000 published in 2000, represented a major overhaul of the standard, including new requirements and a sharpened customer focus, reflecting developments in quality management and experience gained since the publication of the initial version.

Then Why Was It Necessary To Introduce This Revision?

All ISO standards, currently more than 17 400, are periodically reviewed. To ensure that ISO standards are maintained at the state of the art, ISO has a rule requiring them to be periodically reviewed and a decision taken to confirm, withdraw or revise the documents. The review process must be initiated within 3 years of publication of a standard. The review considers several factors such as technological evolution, new methods and materials, new quality and safety requirements, or questions of interpretation and application.

The review of ISO 9001 resulting in the 2008 edition was carried out by subcommittee SC 2 of ISO/TC 176. This subcommittee, which is responsible for the ISO 9000 family, unites expertise from 80 participating countries and 19 international or regional organizations, plus other technical committees.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.